Blog post 3

For project 1 I made a video about a day of skateboarding. The length of the video as well as the assignment guidelines allowed for only a small amount of privileged information to be conveyed. The privileged knowledge contained in my project had a lot to do with my emotions when I am skateboarding. It excluded a lot, such as the history behind skateboarding (general history and my history with it), names of skateboard tricks, etc.

For project 2, I thoroughly discussed the topics of information, knowledge, expertise, research, argument, evidence/proof, and discourse communities in my field of study (psychology). For this project, I felt that there was a lot more excluded knowledge than privileged knowledge. I did not include the topic of communication conventions, which would have allowed me to discuss and include knowledge about what kind of persuasion techniques psychologists use. In addition, I only discussed what these topics look like in psychology along with little examples. I did not include anything on what psychology actually is, the history of psychology, how the topics of information, knowledge, expertise, research, argument, evidence, proof, and discourse communities have changed in psychology, or any groundbreaking research in the field. Project 2 allowed me to think about psychology in a way I never had before.

Leave a comment